Cheshire Cam

Sights from Cheshire and Beyond

This content shows Simple View

Who We Are

The main Administrative centers for the county are, Chester (administrative headquarters), Crewe, Congleton, Macclesfield & Warrington. The county is approximately 2,320 sq. km / 896 sq. miles in area and has a population of about 980,000.

The county of Cheshire is bounded on the north by Lancashire and Merseyside, and by Greater Manchester and Derbyshire on the east whilst to the south by Staffordshire and Shropshire. To the west the county is bordered by the Welsh county of Clwyd. Chiefly a fertile plain, with the Pennines in the east. Highest point: Black Hill at 1,908 feet.
Rivers flowing through Cheshire include: Mersey and the Dee. A sandstone ridge extending south through central Cheshire together with Delamere Forest constitute a woodland and heath landscape, salt mines and geologically rich former copper workings at Alderley Edge and Gallentry Bank both date back to roman times and were worked up till the 1920’s..

The country is a rich agricultural area, arable farming in the north; famous for its cheese and dairy products in the centre & south of the county
Other Industries here include aerospace industry, petroleum, chemicals, pharmaceuticals, salt, vehicles, silk and textiles.